lemon soup with chicken & orzo

When I start to sense that a cold is around, I usually make chicken soup to lift myself up – works every time. And because today I couldn’t even finish one sentence without sneezing at least 2 times, I felt it was time to take action. I put a thick sweater on, jumped into a pair of warm socks and went to the kitchen.

I lit up, straight away, when I saw this big basket of fresh, beautiful lemons I got from a friend of mine. Last Saturday, she handed me a huge bag, saying “I was at my grandmother’s garden yesterday and when I saw all those lemons hanging from her trees I immediately thought about you! You love lemons, right? So here you are, enjoy!.”

So I decided I would go one step further and instead of traditional…I would make lemon chicken soup! I remember I’ve heard a few times about this Greek lemon soup called Avgolemono (in Greek avgo-lemono means egg-lemon) that a lot of people is crazy about. I’ve also heard some call it a “Greek penicillin”, perfect for a flu as well as…hangover 🙂 I should give it a try, I thought.

It felt like it took me just a little moment to make this soup. And, I instinctively fell in love with it! I sprinkled it with lemon pepper and fresh parsley but it doesn’t call for a lot of extras. It’s so simple and so different at the same time, I can’t believe I’ve never tried it before. And I’m so glad I did today. After a steaming bowl of this creamy goodness with bright lemon flavor, chunks of delicate chicken and soft orzo pasta I sneezed much, much less. Or maybe I was just too busy slurping away 😉

2a

LEMON SOUP WITH CHICKEN BREAST & ORZO PASTA

Ingredients

(6-8 servings)

2 l chicken stock

250 g orzo pasta

juice from 3 lemons

4 eggs, separated

1 big chicken breast, cubed (optional)

fresh parsley

lemon pepper or freshly ground black pepper

3a

Recipe

Bring the stock to a boil, season with salt, if necessary, and add the chicken and orzo pasta. Simmer for about 10 minutes or until the pasta and chicken are cooked through. Meanwhile, beat the egg whites (using a whisk or mixer) to a medium peak and, beating constantly, slowly add the egg yolks and lemon juice. When the pasta and chicken are almost cooked, transfer 1,5 cup of the hot broth to the eggs, while whisking fast, so the eggs won’t set. Take the soup off the heat and stir in the egg mixture until smooth and creamy. Serve immediately, sprinkled with fresh parsley and black pepper.

Leave a Reply

