shrimp pad thai with peanuts and bean sprouts

Today is 7 months since I started fresh ground pepper blog. Back then I had no idea that it would bring me so much joy. I’m learning something new everyday, trying to get better at everything I do here, spending hours reading, cooking, photographing and writing. And yes, there is eating involved too 😉 So today, to celebrate, I decided I would make one of my favorite foods ever. Pad Thai. My version of Pad Thai, since I decided to use only the ingredients I currently have at home. You don’t have rice noodles? Use any noodles that you have. No shallots? Grab an onion. Prefer to use chicken or tofu? Go ahead! Prep your ingredients and heat your pan. Be generous with peanuts and coriander. Enjoy every single bite 🙂 And one last thing – thanks for being here !

2

SHRIMP PAD THAI WITH ROASTED PEANUTS AND BEAN SPROUTS

Ingredients

( 2 servings)

120 g chow mein noodles (or rice noodles)

140 g shrimps

1 cup bean sprouts

3-4 tbsp roasted and chopped peanuts

1 egg, lightly beaten

2 tbsp palm sugar

½ red onion, sliced (or 2 shallots)

2 garlic cloves, chopped

4 tbsp lime juice (or 3 tbsp lemon juice)

3 tbsp soy sauce (or fish sauce)

1 tbsp chili sauce

1 tbsp olive oil (or peanut oil)

A hand full of coriander (or parsley) and scallions, chopped

3

Recipe

Heat the lime juice, chili sauce, brown sugar and soy sauce until the sugar dissolves. Soak the noodles in boiled water. Heat the olive oil on the frying pan, add shallots, garlic and shrimps and sauté for 3 minutes. Add the sauce and noodles, stir and add the egg. Cook for about 1 minute. Add the peanuts, bean sprouts, stir and fry for another minute. Serve straight away, sprinkled with coriander, green onions and lime wedges (I served mine with lemon since I ran out of limes).

Leave a Reply

