wild blackberry and coconut sherbet

I had a feeling that the wild blackberries growing near my house were finally ripe so I went for a little blackberry hunting. After an hour, I had a bowl of beautiful berries and my hands covered with stings. Blackberry shoots have a numerous of very sharp prickles which makes the “hunting” much more difficult. But the taste of wild blackberries is something totally worth the effort. Much less sweet and more sour – which I like:) – than the ones we can find at the greengrocers. Besides, is there any better way of eating fresh berries than straight from the bush? 🙂

I ate a lot and there was still some left so I blended them (what a color!) and decided to make a sherbet. Very refreshing and yummy, reminds me of my grandmothers strawberry sorbets that we were scraping from plastic cups when we were kids. A big smile on my face should be a good recommendation 🙂 Enjoy!

And if you don´t have any fresh blackberries or simply you feel like having a different frozen dessert check out my honey lavender ice cream, vinho verde granita, frozen banana yoghurt popsicles or spiced pear popsicles 🙂 

2

WILD BLACKBERRY AND COCONUT SHERBET

Ingredients

(about 6 scoops)

1,5 cup fresh blackberries

1,5 cup light coconut milk

4 tbsp icing sugar/ agave/ raw honey

3

Recipe

Mix all the ingredients with a blender until very smooth. Blackberries contain a lot of large seeds. If you don´t want them in your sherbet – press the mix through a fine strainer into a freezer-proof container to discard the seeds. Taste and add more sugar if you like. Chill in the freezer for about 3 hours. Every 30 minutes stir the custard with a fork and return it to the freezer. Before serving leave the sherbet at room temperature for about 10-15 minutes.

4

Leave a Reply

